Website Feedback

Cultural Scavenger Hunt

#EyeSpyKL: September 4 - October 31, 2021

This fall, the Arts and Heritage Trail is hosting a cultural scavenger hunt designed to allow safe tourism through the Kawarthas. The self-guided trail, developed in 2017, has over 50 locations. Among its composition are a number of cultural attractions that share the culture and heritage of our beautiful region. The Hunt explores the engineering marvels of the Trent-Severn waterway, heritage villages, historic houses, quaint cottages, and amphitheatres for live theatre and cozy storytelling. Not far from each Scavenger Hunt location are interesting artisans and craft cuisine nestled in villages and vistas along the countryside. Put together, it’s the best of Arts and Heritage in the Kawartha Lakes.

A staple of any good road trip, a game of Eye Spy is the basis of the Cultural Scavenger Hunt.

How to play the game:

  • visit the cultural locations listed below
  • find the location’s signature #EyeSpyKL icon (pictured below for easy finding)
  • take a photo and post it to your social media tagging @ExploreKawarthaLakes and using the hashtag #EyeSpyKL

Get entered into the draw to win:

Post ten or more #EyeSpyKL icons and be entered into a draw for one of three Arts and Heritage Trail prize packages. Click here for contest rules and regulations.

If you’re looking for something fun, COVID-19 safe, and are up for a friendly game of #EyeSpyKL starting Labour Day weekend, the Kawartha Lakes Cultural Scavenger Hunt is for you! Game on! Click here to plan your route.

Please Note: Some locations may be closed for the season or may not be open to the public due to COVID restrictions. Please make sure to follow all COVID-19 protocols and respect the locations you’re visiting.

Heading out from Lindsay?

Here's a suggested driving map to hit all the destinations! Click on the map on your mobile device to get started on the go! 

Starting from somewhere else?

Use our route generator to get the optimized route for you, from wherever you are starting from.

Keep an eye out for the #EyeSpyKL Icon when you visit!

Austin Sawmill, Kinmount

Located alongside the old railway station in the heart of Kinmount, the Austin Sawmill was once a fixture of the area's booming lumber industry.  The first mill was built on the site in the 1890s and owned by William T. Craig and John Austin.  In 1908, the original building burned to the ground and was replaced by a structure which also succumbed to fire in the conflagration of 1942, which destroyed most of the town. The Sawmill has been reconstructed and brought back to life with static displays that depict milling processes used in the original mill, visible from a sheltered viewing platform.

Boyd Heritage Museum

Located in the original Boyd Lumber Office built in 1889, the Boyd Heritage Museum explores the fascinating history of the Boyd Family and the local lumber baron Mossom Boyd.  Discover the trials and tribulations of early settlement in Upper Canada, the expansion of industry, and the rivalry and race for natural resources.  Learn about the area's lumber and agricultural industries and how Bobcaygeon and its social and economic environment came to be.  The building retains timeless architectural characteristics that are a must-see.

eye class image

The Curve Lake Cultural Centre is a place to learn and share in the history and culture of our people. Established in 1988, the Curve Lake Cultural Centre is dedicated to keeping traditions and ceremonies alive within the community. The Centre brings history to life and reaffirms one's connection with all creation. Step into history at Curve Lake Cultural Centre and immerse yourself in the diverse culture of Michi Saagiig people. With artifacts and unique exhibits, we will take you into a world of storytelling, art, history and ceremony.

eye glass image

The famous Doube's trestle bridge offers spectacular views across the Buttermilk Valley. The bridge was originally constructed to link the rail line running between Peterborough and Omemee. During the summer of 1885, five hundred Italian immigrants completed the construction of the 700 foot long and 40 foot high trestle, using only hand shovels, ropes and pulleys and muscle. The rail line was discontinued in 1989 and eventually was formally incorporated as part of the Trans Canada Trail in 2008.

eye glass image

In the 1860s, George Laidlaw, a grain merchant, wharf owner and a railway promoter, purchased property on the western shores of Balsam Lake. He built a homestead and ranch where he raised sheep and cattle imported from his homeland of Scotland. He had carefully interlocked dry stone walls built to keep animals enclosed. These are a common feature and design of Scottish farms. Three kilometers of these walls still stand and are visible along both sides of Balsam Lake Drive. Today, restoration work is being undertaken by Laidlaw's descendants to restore the walls after the effects of weather and time. Enjoy a slow, scenic drive past the walls or park and walk the length of the road.

eye glass image

The Kawartha Art Gallery has been providing a venue to foster and promote the interests of citizens in the City of Kawartha Lakes for over 40 years. The Gallery stewards a permanent collection of over 200 extraordinary pieces of artwork that belong to the citizens of Kawartha Lakes. Selected pieces from the permanent collection are on display throughout the year, as well as an ever-changing schedule of exhibits of Canadian artists. The Gallery offers art programming to schools, youth and adults as well as a schedule of special events for the community.

eye glass image

Step back in time to the 1800s and immerse yourself in rural pioneer living! Located on a once-thriving family farm, Kawartha Settlers' Village features a fascinating collection of over 20 historic homes and buildings that have been relocated from throughout the region. Take a leisurely stroll through the Village and check out the general store, the dairy barn, the blacksmith's shop, and the carpentry shop, or wander through an authentic log home complete with period furnishings, fixtures and artifacts from 1830-1935.

eye glass image

The historic station is located on the banks of the Burnt River in the centre of Kinmount. Built by Dr. William Mackenzie in 1858, it was once a busy hub for the transport of people and goods into and out of town. The building is home to the Kinmount Model Railway Society and the Kinmount Icelandic Monument. Wander through the station's passenger waiting area, ticket office and baggage room, and browse life-size exhibitions. You'll find the model railway displays in the former baggage room, scaled down to provide a bird's eye view of Kinmount's railway heritage.

eye glass image

The Kirkfield & District Historical Society promotes the rich history within and including the areas around the Village of Kirkfield. Located in the former St. Andrew's Presbyterian Church, the magnificent historical edifice was transferred to Kirkfield & District Historical Society as a museum in 2010. Featuring beautiful stained-glass windows, the former sanctuary is now used as a performance space. The rest of the building is dedicated to museum space and features artifacts and exhibitions that illuminate Kirkfield's heritage.

eye glass image

In 1827, the Purdy family built a dam on the banks of the Scugog River - giving birth to the current Town of Lindsay, then called Purdy's Mills. A much-needed sawmill and gristmill followed shortly thereafter. The original mill was destroyed by fire and rebuilt in 1869. The existing architectural foundations along the river that you can see today once contained a stone flour mill and a lumber mill. A tramway was built across the river to the railway tracks. Destroyed by fire in 1978, the remaining structure has been incorporated into a park - remnants of a bygone age of rugged industry and dogged determination.

eye glass image

Originally the 1837 estate of James Wallis, proprietor of Fenelon Falls, Maryboro Lodge now brings the region's history to life as a museum. Situated on the shore overlooking Cameron Lake, this historic home boasts original fixtures and elegant furnishings, and has a fascinating story to tell. Enjoy afternoon tea service on the veranda or under the Oak Grove. Participate in daily drop in activities and hands-on programming geared for families and kids. Discover local and regional history through fascinating exhibits and displays.

eye glass image

Originally the 1837 estate of James Wallis, proprietor of Fenelon Falls, Maryboro Lodge now brings the region's history to life as a museum. Situated on the shore overlooking Cameron Lake, this historic home boasts original fixtures and elegant furnishings, and has a fascinating story to tell. Enjoy afternoon tea service on the veranda or under the Oak Grove. Participate in daily drop in activities and hands-on programming geared for families and kids. Discover local and regional history through fascinating exhibits and displays.

eye glass image

Located in a historic gaol built in 1863, the Lindsay Museum is much more than a jail; full of fascinating stories and unique regional artifacts. The Victoria County Historical Society (VCHS) dates to 1957 when a group of forward-thinking citizens began collecting, preserving, and sharing the heritage of Lindsay and the surrounding townships. Following the closure of the County Gaol in 2003, the VCHS began redeveloping this unique space into a museum - the fourth home of the VCHS since its inception. The Old Gaol's doors reopened in 2011 as a museum dedicated to sharing community histories, including the social, economic, industrial and political heritage of the area.

eye glass image

The Sturgeon Point Union Church has been an important part of the Village of Sturgeon Point, providing a place of worship for residents and visitors for more than 100 years. The current octagonal timber building was designed by architect Frank Wickson and built in 1915 through the generous gift of Lady Favelle. The church is constructed of Georgia pine, throughout, supported by a central pillar, and with bench seating for 250. The wide windows on seven sides let in the summer breezes and sounds. The church has remained independent, welcoming worshipers of all creeds. Services are conducted on Sundays at 10:30am during July and August.

eye glass image

Tucked neatly away in a gorgeous pine grove in Fenelon Falls, The Grove Theatre offers diverse arts and culture programming to the Kawartha Lakes region. Opening August 2021, this stunning and secluded amphitheater offers its guests a chance to step into fantasy. The Grove Theatre team is proud to offer a wide variety of programming ranging from theatre, comedy, music, dance, and special community events! Accessibility is also a top priority at The Grove Theatre and offers an exceedingly accessible outdoor theatre experience nestled inside a serene natural setting. Visit us soon and step into The Grove!

eye glass image

Designed by Canadian engineer Richard Birdsail Rogers, the Kirkfield Lift Lock is the 2nd highest hydraulic lift lock in the world, with a lift of 15 metres (49ft.) The lock is situated at the highest point along the waterway at 256.20 metres (9840.5ft) above sea level. It was constructed between 1900 and 1907 and was originally intended for commercial traffic. Today, the waterway is utilized exclusively by pleasure boaters. Walk the grounds surrounding the canal or climb to the top of the lift to see it in action as it lowers or lifts boating traffic on the waterway.

eye glass image

Built in 1833, Lock 32 is the first lock constructed along the Trent-Severn waterway; a scenic 386km route of interconnected rivers, lakes, locks and canals managed by Parks Canada that travels throughout Kawartha Lakes. Today, it is a popular place for boats of all shapes and sizes that travel from near and far to experience one of the most popular locks along the Waterway.

eye glass image

Located in downtown Fenelon Falls on an island, Lock 34 provides a link between Sturgeon Lake and Cameron Lake, with a lift of 7.2 metres. Take a walk and explore the shore of Cameron Lake or the waterfall for which the town is named.

Contact Us