Website Feedback

Municipal Responsibilities and Other Government

Three levels of government - municipal, provincial and federal - have various responsibilities in Kawartha Lakes. It's important to understand how each level of government works and what specific services they provide through taxes and/or fees for services.

The responsibilities of municipal governments are set out in the Municipal Act, 2001 and include many of the services you rely on daily.

Kawartha Lakes is a single-tier municipality in Ontario, meaning there is no upper-tier, such as a county or district municipality, to which Kawartha Lakes Council reports. Also, there is no lower-tier government, such as a township, village or town, operating within Kawartha Lakes. This structure has been in place since the merge of the County of Victoria with 16 former lower-tier municipalities on January 1, 2001.

City of Kawartha Lakes responsibilities

  • ambulance and paramedic services
  • arts, culture, heritage and local tourism
  • building inspections
  • economic development
  • fire services
  • housing services
  • Kawartha Lakes Municipal Airport
  • library services
  • municipal law enforcement
  • parks and recreation
  • planning and zoning
  • police services (Kawartha Lakes Police Service)
  • property tax collection
  • provincial offences administration
  • public transit
  • roads (except Provincial Highways 7, 7A and 35)
  • snow removal
  • social services (Ontario Works and children's services)
  • Victoria Manor
  • waste and recycling collection and landfills
  • wastewater collection and sewage treatment
  • water treatment and supply 

Province of Ontario's responsibilities 

  • administration of justice
  • civil and property rights in the province
  • driver's licences
  • education, including post-secondary institutions
  • hospitals, long-term care and health
  • natural resources and environment
  • Ontario Provincial Police
  • Outdoors Cards (hunting and fishing)
  • prisons, probation and parole
  • provincial highways
  • social services (Ontario Disability Support Program)

Government of Canada's responsibilities

  • aircraft registration
  • boat registration
  • census
  • citizenship and immigration
  • copyright
  • criminal law
  • employment insurance
  • foreign policy
  • money and banking
  • national defence
  • passports
  • post office
  • RCMP (Royal Canadian Mounted Police)
  • regulation of trade and commerce
  • Trent-Severn Waterway (Parks Canada)

Contact Us